Gary Taubes: Bad Science, Gut Health, & NuSi – #223



Gary comes on Bulletproof Radio to discuss the bad science in public health, researching healthy diets, the role of gut bacteria in obesity, and self experimentation. Enjoy the show!

Gary Taubes is an American science writer. He is the author of Good Calories, Bad Calories which is titled The Diet Delusion in the UK and Why We Get Fat. He has won the Science in Society Award of the National Association of Science Writers three times and was awarded an MIT Knight Science Journalism Fellowship for 1996-97. He is also a co-founder of Nutrition Science Initiative. NuSI’s mission is reduce the individual, social, and economic costs of obesity, diabetes, and their related diseases by improving the quality of science in nutrition and obesity research.

For more info & to follow Gary:
Gary Taubes – http://garytaubes.com/biography/
Nutrition Science Initiative – http://nusi.org/
NuSi on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/NuSIorg
Twitter – @NuSiorg – https://twitter.com/NuSIorg
NuSi on YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcTnX7GBookSDhhAfJEFpBw
Good Calories Bad Calories – http://geni.us/2XhA
Why We Get Fat – http://geni.us/whywegetfat

Resources:
Silicon Valley Health Institute – http://www.svhi.com/
The Shroud of Turin – http://shroud.com/
Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire (CERN)
Quantum optics – http://home.web.cern.ch/about
The Atkins Diet – http://www.atkins.com/
Ancel Keys – http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm4830a1box.htm
American Society of Bariatric Physicians – http://www.asbp.org/
Peter Attia – http://eatingacademy.com/dr-peter-attia
John Arnold – http://www.forbes.com/profile/john-arnold/
Laura and John Arnold Foundation – http://www.arnoldfoundation.org/
Paleo f(x) – http://www.paleofx.com/paleo-events/2015-austin/?a_aid=bulletproof
Nina Teicholz – http://thebigfatsurprise.com/about-nina-teicholz/
Bloomberg Business – Buttered Coffee Could Make You Invincible – http://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2015-04-21/buttered-coffee-could-make-you-invincible-and-this-man-very-rich
Dean Ornish – http://deanornish.com/about/
Christopher Gardner – https://med.stanford.edu/profiles/christopher-gardner
A TO Z study – http://nutrition.stanford.edu/projects/az.html
Insulin sensitivity – http://www.wisegeek.org/what-is-insulin-sensitivity.htm
Insulin resistance – http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/insulinresistance/#resistance
Standard American Diet (SAD) – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_pattern_diet
Gout – http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/gout/basics/definition/CON-20019400
What If It’s All Been A Big Fat Lie? (NY Times) – http://www.nytimes.com/2002/07/07/magazine/what-if-it-s-all-been-a-big-fat-lie.html
Butyric acid – http://www.wisegeek.org/what-is-butyric-acid.htm
Palmitic acid – http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-palmitic-acid.htm
Lacuna – http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/lacuna
Feed efficiency – http://bit.ly/1SRbfpL
Fasting induced adipose factor (FIAF) – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ANGPTL4
Tinnitus – http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/tinnitus/basics/symptoms/CON-20021487
Gingko biloba – http://www.mayoclinic.org/drugs-supplements/ginkgo/background/HRB-20059541
Dr. Dwight Jennings – http://dwightjennings.com/
Trigeminal nerve – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trigeminal_nerve
Placebo effect – http://psychology.about.com/od/pindex/f/placebo-effect.htm
Fusarium – http://www.moldbacteria.com/mold/fusarium.html
Mycotoxins – http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC164220/
Finger Tapping Test – http://link.springer.com/referenceworkentry/10.1007%2F978-1-4419-1698-3_343
Dual N-back test – http://brainworkshop.sourceforge.net/
Stachybotrys – http://www.cdc.gov/mold/stachy.htm
Mission Heirloom – https://squareup.com/market/mission-heirloom
Concept 2 rower – http://geni.us/concept2
Sisyphus – http://www.mythweb.com/encyc/entries/sisyphus.html
Tim Ferriss – http://fourhourworkweek.com/about/
The Tim Ferriss Experiment – http://fourhourworkweek.com/tv/

Bulletproof:
The Better Baby Book – http://bit.ly/1FRaXK3
Bulletproof Intermittent Fasting – https://www.bulletproofexec.com/bulletproof-fasting/
Dr. Dwight Jennings: TMJ, Jaw Pain, & Substance P – #179 – http://bit.ly/1HHrL2X
Nina Teicholz: Saturated Fats & the Soft Science on Fat – #149 – http://bit.ly/1M4P3UE
Tim Ferriss: The Tim Ferriss Experiment – #215 – http://bit.ly/1dHoNo4
ZenTech™ – http://bit.ly/1EC9ySm
Bulletproof Diet Book – http://orderbulletproofdietbook.com/
Bulletproof Conference – http://bulletproofconference.com/

source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *